

# DEPARTMENT OF LABOR BUREAU OF LABOR STANDARDS 45 STATE HOUSE STATION AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333-0045

LAURA A. FORTMAN COMMISSIONER

Wage & Hour Division

DR. JASON MOYER-LEE

FAX: (207)623-7938

March 8, 2024

Joyce Lin a.k.a. Zhi Lin and C&L Asian Restaurant Inc. DBA – Green Tea 11 Bangor Mall Blvd Unit E Bangor, ME 04401

RE: Violations of Title 26 MRS. Inspection #486578

# Contents

Background	2
BackgroundViolations	
Timely and Full Payment of Wages	
Records	
Earned Paid Leave	
Pay Statements	
Pay Statements	9
Hours of Employment	9
Work Permits	11
Summary of Violations	12
Penalties	12
Timely and Full Payment of Wages; Records	13
Earned Paid Leave	13
Pay Statements	
Minors	14
Appeals and Settlements	14

# **Background**

C&L Asian Restaurant Inc. – doing business as Green Tea – is a restaurant in Bangor. Joyce Lin, a.k.a. Zhi Lin, and C&L Asian Restaurant (collectively "the employers") employ approximately 19 people. Some of them work in the "front of house" as servers, cashiers, etc. and others work in the "back of house" as chefs, dishwashers, or sushi chefs, among others.

On January 12, 2024, the Wage and Hour Division ("the Division") - part of the Bureau of Labor Standards ("the Bureau") in the Maine Department of Labor – sent a team of inspectors to conduct an audit of the employers' compliance with Maine employment laws. On the day of the inspection the Division interviewed multiple employees as well as the employers. The Division also requested, and the employers provided, a number of records of employee working hours and pay. The Division has since reviewed these records. Between the site visit, the interviews, and the review of records, the Division has identified a very high number of violations, resulting in a total fine of \$182,191.05. This is explained in more detail below.

This citation does not concern wages owed to any employee. The Division continues to analyze whether any unpaid wages are owed and will communicate with the employers in due course regarding this matter.

## **Violations**

When the Division conducts an audit, it generally checks for compliance with most of the employment laws that it administers. The bulk of these are set out in Chapter 7 of Title 26 of the Maine Revised Statutes. Various statutes within Title 26 provide the Bureau of Labor Standards with broad authority to inspect workplaces, records, and to question employers and workers. <sup>2</sup>

# **Timely and Full Payment of Wages**

Section 621-A, entitled "Timely and Full Payment of Wages", (materially) states:

1. Minimum frequency and full payment. At regular intervals not to exceed 16 days, every employer must pay in full all wages earned by each employee, except members of the family of the employer and salaried employees. Each payment must include all wages earned to within 8 days of the payment date. Payments that fall on a day when the business is regularly closed must be paid no later than the following business day. An employee who is absent from work at a time fixed for payment must be paid as if the employee was not absent. ...

Title 26, like the rest of the Maine Revised Statutes, is publicly available: https://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26ch0sec0.html.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> For example, 26 M.R.S. §§ 42, 43, 622, and 665, among others.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> https://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26sec621-A.html

**2. Regular payment required.** Wages must be paid on an established day or date at regular intervals made known to the employee. The interval may not be increased without written notice to the employee at least 30 days in advance of the increase.

In this case, the employers paid numerous employees on a monthly basis – instead of "at regular intervals not to exceed 16 days". The employees, pay periods, and number of violations are set out in Table 1 below. As can be seen in Table 1, there are a total of 42 violations of this statute.

**Table 1: Timely Payment of Wages Violations** 

Employee	Pay Period	Violations
	3 separate occasions between	3
	12/22/2022 and 03/26/2023	
	4 separate occasions between	4
	01/13/2023 and 06/12/2023	
	Period ending 08/12/2023	1
	period ending 03/12/2023	1
	7 separate occasions between	7
	01/13/2023 and 12/12/2023	
	2 separate occasions between	2
	07/13/2023 and 09/13/2023	
	6 separate occasions between	4
	04/13/2023 and 12/12/2023	
	period ending 12/12/2023	1
	period ending 02/12/2023	1
	4 separate occasions between	4
	02/08/2023 and 07/15/2023	
	4 separate occasions between	4
	06/13/2023 and 12/12/2023	
	4 separate occasions between	4
	01/13/2023 and 12/12/2023	
	3 separate occasions between	3
	06/21/2023 and 09/05/2023.	
	3 separate occasions between	3
	06/13/2023 and 09/12/2023	
TOTAL		42

### Records

# Section 622 of Title 26<sup>4</sup> (materially) states:

Every employer shall keep a true record showing the date and amount paid to each employee pursuant to section 621-A. Every employer shall keep a daily record of the time worked by each such employee... Records required to be kept by this section must be accessible to any representative of the department at any reasonable hour. ...

Records statutes, such as Section 622, are a critical element of labor standards because records help employers ensure they have met their legal obligations to pay workers what they are owed, and they provide the Division with a source of evidence when evaluating an employer's compliance with other statutes.

The Division counts each day on which an employer fails to "keep a daily record of the time worked by each such employee" as a separate violation. In this case, the Division identified over 1,300 instances in which the employers did not keep such records. These violations are set out in Table 2, below.

**Table 2: Daily Time Record Violations** 

Employee	Date(s)	Number of Violations
	11 separate days between	11
	11/30/2023 and 12/12/2023	
	78 separate days between	78
	12/27/2022 and 03/26/2023	
	103 separate days between	103
	01/13/2023 and 06/12/2023	
	42 separate days between	42
	07/11/2023 and 08/27/2023	
	53 separate days between	53
	01/16/2023 and 03/21/2023	
	24 separate days between	24
	02/13/2023 and 03/12/2023	
	173 separate days between	173
	01/13/2023 and 12/12/2023	
	56 separate days between	56
	07/13/2023 and 09/13/2023	
	158 separate days between	158
	04/13/2023 and 12/12/2023	
	25 separate days between	25
	11/13/2023 and 12/12/2023	
	15 separate days between	15
	03/28/2023 and 04/13/2023	

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> https://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26sec622.html

	91 separate days between 01/13/2023 and 05/28/2023	91
	3 separate days between 09/09/2023 and 09/12/2023.	3
	102 separate days between 02/08/2023 and 07/15/2023	102
	106 separate days between 06/13/2023 and 12/12/2023	106
	122 separate days between 01/13/2023 and 12/12/2023	122
	66 separate days between 06/21/2023 and 09/05/2023	66
	87 separate days between 06/13/2023 and 09/12/2023	87
TOTAL		1,315

Additionally, the Division found 63 instances in which the employers failed to "keep a true record showing the date and amount paid to each employee pursuant to section 621-A." These are set out in Table 3, below.

**Table 3: Pay Records Violations** 

Employee	Date(s)	Number of Violations
	1 pay date between 11/30/2023 and 12/12/2023	1
	3 separate pay dates between 12/27/2023 and 03/26/2023	3
	4 separate pay dates between 01/13/2023 and 06/12/2023	4
	3 separate pay dates between 07/11/2023 and 08/12/2023	3
	5 separate pay dates between 01/16/2023 and 03/21/2023	5
	1 pay date between 02/13/2023 and 03/12/2023	1
	7 separate pay dates between 01/13/2023 and 12/12/2023	7
	3 separate pay dates between 07/13/2023 and 09/13/2023	3
	6 separate pay dates between 04/13/2023 and 12/12/2023	6
	1 pay date between 11/13/2023 and 12/12/2023	1

	1 pay date between 03/28/2023 and 04/13/2023	1
	6 separate pay dates between 01/13/2023 and 05/28/2023	6
	1 pay date between 09/09/2023 and 09/12/2023	1
	4 separate pay dates between 02/28/2023 and 07/15/2023	4
	4 separate pay dates between 06/13/2023 and 12/12/2023	4
	6 separate pay dates between 01/13/2023 and 12/12/2023	6
	3 separate pay dates between 06/21/2023 and 09/05/2023	3
	4 separate pay dates between 06/13/2023 and 09/12/2023	4
TOTAL		63

#### **Earned Paid Leave**

Maine's Earned Paid Leave law provides for employees to accumulate leave, based on the number of hours they work. They may generally use the leave as they wish; it is paid time off. The law is set out at Section 637 of Title 26 and (materially) states:

- **2. Earned paid leave.** An employer that employs more than 10 employees in the usual and regular course of business for more than 120 days in any calendar year shall permit each employee to earn paid leave based on the employee's base pay as provided in this section.
- **3. Accrual.** An employee is entitled to earn one hour of paid leave from a single employer for every 40 hours worked, up to 40 hours in one year of employment. Accrual of leave begins at the start of employment, but the employer is not required to permit use of the leave before the employee has been employed by that employer for 120 days during a one-year period.

The Division has further fleshed out employers' legal obligations, and employees' legal rights, with regard to earned paid leave, through rulemaking: *Chapter 18: Rules Governing Earned Paid Leave.* <sup>5</sup> The Rules state that "[a]n employer shall not deny an employee the right to use paid leave available for use by that employee in accordance with the conditions of this section" and clarify

\_

https://view.officeapps.live.com/op/view.aspx?src=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.maine.gov%2Fsos%2Fcec%2Frules%2F12%2F170c018.docx&wdOrigin=BROWSELINK

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>6</sup> Section V(F).

that "[e]ach denial of paid leave for each affected covered employee in violation of 26 MRS §637 and this Rule is a separate violation." What's striking about this case, however, is that – at least prior to 2024 – the employers failed to allow the workers to accumulate earned paid leave at all. The Division is not aware of an instance in which an employee requested the use of earned paid leave and was so denied. Rather, such a request never arose because these employees were not allowed to accumulate leave to begin with. The employers have offered no plausible rationale for effectively ignoring this statute in its entirety.

The Division finds that when an employer does not allow an eligible employee to accumulate earned paid leave, that constitutes a denial of access to the leave required by law and therefore constitutes a violation for each employee for each year in which no accrual was allowed.

**Table 4: Earned Paid Leave Violations** 

Year	Number of Employees	Total Violations
2021	21	21
2022	21	21
2023	53	53
2021-2023 (TOTAL)		95

# **Pay Statements**

Subchapter 3 of Chapter 7 of Title 26 of the Maine Revised Statutes, concerning minimum wage and paid overtime, requires employers to keep pay records and provide pay statements to employees. This requirement is set out at Section 665<sup>8</sup> and (materially) states:

Every employer...shall keep a true and accurate record of the hours worked by each employee and of the wages paid, such records to be preserved by the employer for a period of at least 3 years, and shall furnish to each employee with each payment of wages a statement that clearly shows the date of the pay period, the hours, total earnings and itemized deductions.

In the present case, the employers routinely failed to provide back of house workers with pay statements. Instead, the employers generally handed these employees cash-stuffed envelopes, once per month. Upon accepting the envelopes, the employers had the employees sign a statement acknowledging payment. However, these employees – who spoke very little English – informed the Division that they did not understand what they were signing. The Division reviewed the paperwork the employees signed. The language included the sentence "By signing below, I acknowledge my paycheck accurately reflects wage and overtime" and referred to provisions on

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>7</sup> Section VI(A).

<sup>8</sup> https://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26sec665.html

rest breaks. Upon questioning, the employers admitted that this language did not actually reflect the employees' working conditions. Further, the total wages often did not correspond to the hours worked. When the Division questioned the employers on this, the employers suggested the difference between hourly wages paid and hours worked accounted for employer-provided lodging and meals. However, the employers admitted to having made no calculation to account for the actual costs the employers incurred on these items. The numbers were seemingly plucked out of thin air.

Although the employers asserted that the employees were provided with handwritten notes on their cash-filled envelopes, the Division was not able to verify this with the employees, and the employers did not provide the Division with any copies. To the extent the employees were provided with any "pay statements", they did not comply with Section 665. The net effect of this system was that the back of house employees had no way to understand why their employers were paying them the amount they were nor the reasons for deductions made.

Each instance in which an employer fails to provide a valid pay statement counts as a separate violation. The Division identified 63 such violations in the present case, as set out in Table 5 below.

**Table 5: Pay Statement Violations** 

Employee	Date(s)	Number of Violations
	1 violation period ending 12/12/2023	1
	3 separate pay dates between 12/27/2022 and 03/26/2023	3
	4 separate pay dates between 01/13/2023 and 06/12/2023	4
	3 separate pay dates between 07/13/2023 and 08/27/2023	3
	5 separate pay dates between 01/16/2023 and 03/21/2023	5
	1 pay date between 02/13/2023 and 03/12/2203	1
	7 separate pay dates between 01/13/2023 and 12/12/2023	7
	3 separate pay dates between 07/13/2023 and 09/13/2023	3
	6 separate pay dates between 04/13/2023 and 12/12/2023	6
	1 pay date between 11/13/2023 and 12/12/2023	1
	1 pay date between 03/28/2023 and 04/13/2023	1
	6 separate pay dates between 01/13/2023 and 05/28/2023	6
	1 pay date between 09/09/2023 and 09/12/2023	1

	4 separate pay dates between 02/08/2023 and 07/15/2023	4
	4 separate pay dates between 06/13/2023 and 12/12/2023	4
	6 separate pay dates between 01/13/2023 and 12/12/2023	6
	3 separate pay dates between 06/21/2023 and 09/05/2023	3
	4 separate pay dates between 06/13/2023 and 09/12/2023	4
TOTAL		63

#### **Minors**

Article 3 of Subchapter 4 of Chapter 7 of Title 26 M.R.S. sets out laws around the employment of minors, or what is sometimes referred to as "child labor". There are two sections with which we are concerned for present purposes: Section 774, ocncerning hours of employment, and Section 775, ocncerning work permits. The violations all relate to the same 15-year-old employee. When the Division first asked the employee his age, he answered "16". However, when the Division asked the employee for his birthday, he provided an answer which indicated he was 15. Two former employees also reported the employee as being 15 years old. When interviewed, the employers asserted (without any supporting evidence) that the minor in question had told them he was 16 years of age. It does not appear that the employers examined or even requested any documentation to verify the minor's age. The employers were aware that the minor in question was not in school because he was working for them during every school day except Mondays.

## **Hours of Employment**

Section 774,<sup>11</sup> entitled "Hours of employment", contains a number of substantive subsections. These include limits on the hours 16 and 17 year-olds may work,<sup>12</sup> limits on the hours minors under 16 may work,<sup>13</sup> a prohibition on employing minors under 17 during school hours,<sup>14</sup> and a record-keeping requirement.<sup>15</sup> Rather than reproducing the statute in its entirety here, we take the relevant subsections in turn.

## Working Hours for Minor Under Age of 16

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>9</sup> https://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26sec774.html

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>10</sup> https://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26sec775.html

<sup>11</sup> https://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26sec774.html

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>12</sup> 26 M.R.S. § 774(1).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>13</sup> 26 M.R.S. § 774(2).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>14</sup> 26 M.R.S. § 774(3).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>15</sup> 26 M.R.S. § 774(7).

#### Subsection 2 states:

**Minors under 16 years of age.** A minor under 16 years of age may not be employed as follows:

- **A.** More than 40 hours in any week when school is not in session;
- **B.** More than 18 hours in any week when school is in session;
- C. More than 8 hours in any day when school is not in session;
- **D.** More than 3 hours in any day when school is in session;
- E. More than 6 consecutive days; or
- **F.** Between the hours of 7 p.m. and 7 a.m. except during summer vacation, when that minor may not work between the hours of 9 p.m. and 7 a.m.

In this case, the Division identified violations of every element of Subsection 2 above except E (the restaurant is only open six days per week). These violations are set out in Table 6, below.

**Table 6: Working Hours Violations for Minor Under 16** 

<b>Statute Subsection</b>	Hours Worked	Date(s)	Number of Violations
2(A): More than 40	54	12/30/2023*	1
hours in any week			
when school is not in			
session			
2(B): More than 18	45	12/16/2023*	4
hours in any week	54	12/23/2023*	
when school is in	54	01/06/2024*	
session	37	01/13/2024*	
2(C): More than 8	9	12 separate days	12
hours in any day when		between 12/12/2023	
school is not in session		and 01/12/2024	
2(D): More than 3	9	16 separate days	16
hours in any day when		between 12/12/2023	
school is in session		and 01/12/2024	
2(F): Between the	Until 9pm	27 separate days	27
hours of 7 p.m. and 7	_	between 12/12/2023	
a.m. except during		and 01/12/2024	
summer vacation,			
when that minor may			
not work between the			
hours of 9 p.m. and 7			
a.m.			
TOTAL			60

<sup>\*</sup>Week ending

# **Employment During School Hours**

Section 774(3) states:

**3. Employment during hours school in session.** A minor under 17 years of age may not be employed during the hours that the public schools of the town or city in which the minor resides are in session. ... <sup>16</sup>

In the present case, the minor was employed during the restaurant's hours of operation – late morning until late evening – irrespective of whether the Bangor public schools were in session or not. The 15-year-old in question was a full time employee, not a student. The minor worked on 16 separate days between 12/12/2023 and 01/12/2024 in violation of Section 774(3). **There are therefore 16 violations of this statute.** 

## Record of Minor's Working Hours

Section 774(7)<sup>17</sup> (materially) states:

7. Record of work hours of minors. Every employer shall keep a time book or record for every minor employed in any occupation...stating the number of hours worked by each minor on each day of the week. The time book or record must be open at all reasonable hours to the inspection of the director, a deputy of the director or any authorized agent of the bureau. An employer who fails to keep the time book or record required by this subsection or who makes any false entry to the time book or record, refuses to exhibit the time book or record or makes any false statement to the director, a deputy of the director or any authorized agent of the bureau in reply to any question in carrying out this section is liable for a violation of this section and is subject to penalties specified in section 781.

In this case, the employers failed to keep a time book or record of the hours worked by the minor on 28 separate days between 12/12/2023 and 01/12/2024. There are therefore 28 violations of this statute.

#### **Work Permits**

Minors under the age of 16 are required to have a work permit in order to work. As is material here, this is set out in Section 775(1):<sup>18</sup>

1. Work permit authority. A minor under 16 years of age may not be employed without a work permit signed by the superintendent of schools of the school administrative unit in which the minor resides and issued to the minor by the bureau. The superintendent may designate a school official to sign a work permit and that official is directly responsible to the superintendent for this activity.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>16</sup> The statute contains a number of exemptions, all of which are immaterial here.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>17</sup> https://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26sec774.html

<sup>18</sup> https://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26sec775.html

The minor in the present case did not have a work permit. The minor worked on 28 separate days between 12/12/2023 and 01/12/2024. There are therefore 28 violations of this statute.

# **Summary of Violations**

Table 7, below, sets out the total number of violations the Division has found thus far.

**Table 7: Total Violations** 

Statute	Number of Violations	
26 M.R.S. § 621-A	42	
26 M.R.S. § 622 (daily time records)	1,315	
26 M.R.S. § 622 (pay records)	63	
26 M.R.S. § 637	95	
26 M.R.S. § 665	63	
26 M.R.S. § 774(2)	60	
26 M.R.S. § 774(3)	16	
26 M.R.S. § 774(7)	28	
26 M.R.S. § 775(1)	28	
TOTAL	1,710	

# **Penalties**

When assessing fines, the Division generally relies on Section 53 of Title 26, which (materially) states:

...[T]he director may assess a forfeiture against any employer, officer, agent or other person who violates any provision of chapter 7, subchapters I to IV for each violation of those subchapters. The forfeiture may not exceed \$1,000 or the amount provided in law or rule as a penalty for the specific violation, whichever is less. ... The director shall adopt rules to govern the administration of the civil money forfeiture provisions. The rules must include a right of appeal by the employer and a range of monetary assessments with consideration given to the size of the employer's business, the good faith of the employer, the gravity of the violation and the history of previous violations. ...

The Rules referred to above are entitled: Chapter 9: Rules Governing Administrative Civil Money Penalties for Labor Law Violations. <sup>19</sup> Pursuant to these rules, fines start at the minimum penalty or the lowest amount in the penalty range for a particular violation, and then must be increased for

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>19</sup>The rules which are currently in force, and upon which this citation relies, can be found here: https://view.officeapps.live.com/op/view.aspx?src=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.maine.gov%2Fsos%2Fcec%2Frules%2F12%2F170%2F170c009.docx&wdOrigin=BROWSELINK.

the severity of the violation, when the employer has a history of violations, and if the violations are "willful". The fines decrease, on the other hand, when the employer demonstrates "good faith" or has 100 or fewer employees.

Employer size is the only relevant criterion to the imposition of fines in this case. The employers in this case have between 1 and 20 employees. This means that, pursuant to Section III(B)(2), the penalty amount in all violations will be reduced by 33.3%. Therefore, to calculate the penalty amount the Division imposes for the violations in this case, the Division starts with the minimum penalty provided by the statute in question and then reduces the amount by 33.3%.

# Timely and Full Payment of Wages; Records

The violations for timely and full payment of wages (Section 621-A), for daily time records (Section 622), and for pay records (Section 622), are all subject to the same penalty range. This is set out at Section 626-A, which (materially) states: "Whoever violates any of the provisions of...sections 621-A to 623...is subject to a forfeiture of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 for each violation."<sup>20</sup>

As \$100 is the lowest amount in the range, the Chapter 9 Rules require us to use this number as our starting point. The \$100 figure is then multiplied by the 1,420 violations under this category, resulting in an initial fine of \$142,000. The 33.3% reduction is then applied, resulting in a total penalty amount of \$94,714.00 for the violations in this category.

## **Earned Paid Leave**

The Earned Paid Leave statute, Section 637, does not provide a penalty range. Instead, it simply states: "Penalties for violations of this section are the same as those provided in section 53."<sup>21</sup> The only reference to the penalty amount in Section 53, as seen above, states: "The forfeiture may not exceed \$1,000 or the amount provided in law or rule as a penalty for the specific violation, whichever is less[,]" so we use \$1,000 as the starting point. We then multiply the 95 violations by \$1,000, resulting in \$95,000. We then reduce by 33.3% to account for employer size, **resulting in a total penalty amount of \$63,365.00 for the violations in this category**.

## **Pay Statements**

The penalty range for pay statement violations is set out at Section 671<sup>22</sup> and (materially) states: "Any employer who violates this subchapter shall, upon conviction thereof, be punished by a fine of not less than \$50 nor more than \$200." We therefore start with the minimum figure of \$50 per violation. We then multiply this by the 63 violations in this category, resulting in a penalty amount

\_

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>20</sup> https://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26sec626-A.html

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>21</sup> 26 M.R.S. § 637(8).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>22</sup> https://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26sec671.html

of \$3,150. After reducing by 33.3% to account for employer size, the result is a total penalty amount of \$2,101.05 for the violations in this category.

#### **Minors**

The penalties for the statutes relating to the employment of minors are set out (as is relevant to this case) in Section 781(1):<sup>23</sup>

1. Strict liability. An employer who employs, permits or suffers any minor to be employed or to work in violation of this article...is subject to the following forfeiture or civil penalty, payable to the State and recoverable in a civil action:

A. For the first violation or a violation not subject to an enhanced sanction under paragraph B or C, a forfeiture or penalty of not less than \$250 nor more than \$5,000[.]

. . .

We therefore multiply \$250 by the 132 violations under this article, which results in a penalty amount of \$33,000. We then apply the 33.3% reduction due to employer size, resulting in a total penalty amount of \$22,011.00 in this category.

# **Appeals and Settlements**

The total penalty for the above violation(s) is \$182,191.05. Please make checks payable to "Treasurer, State of Maine" and mail to the address at the top of this letter.

Pursuant to Section 53 of Title 26, you have the right to appeal this citation. The Bureau's appeals process is set out in Section IV of the Chapter 9 Rules.

If you choose to file an appeal of any violation or penalty, you must do so within fifteen (15) business days of receipt of this notice. The appeal must be submitted in writing to the Deputy Director of the Bureau, at the address listed above. If you file an appeal, be specific as to which violation(s) or penalties you wish to appeal. If a request for a formal appeal is received timely, a hearing will be scheduled. The Deputy Director will assign the appeal to a qualified hearing officer. The hearing will be at the headquarters of the Bureau or at a place mutually agreeable to the parties. The hearing may be held telephonically or by remote video, at the discretion of the hearing officer. All proposed penalties will be stayed until after the formal appeal is heard.

If no response is received within the designated timeframe, you accept all citations and any penalties assessed. The notice will become a final order and payment will be due at that time.

We strongly recommend that any correspondence be sent by certified mail. Failure to correct violations may result in additional penalties for each violation that is not corrected.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>23</sup> https://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26sec781.html

You may approach the Bureau to negotiate a settlement to waive the violations or penalties at any time during this process. However, settlement negotiations will not affect the deadline to appeal.

If you have questions regarding this notice, you may contact the Bureau of Labor Standards, Wage & Hour Division at (207) 623-7900.

Respectfully,

Dr. Jason Moyer-Lee, Director Bureau of Labor Standards

Inspection #486578